ChristianBlessings

Without question, my least favorite part of worship service is the prayer of confession. Although the period of personal confession lasts only a few seconds, I dread it. Why?

Because I have to face the ugliness of myself. I have to admit to myself and to God that I am weak, imperfect and a sinner. God already knows that. Truth is, I know it, too. But admitting it, taking ownership of my failings and shortcomings… that’s tough!

It would be OK with me if we’d just skip the prayer of confession and stay with the joyful parts of worship.

Or would it?

What purpose does worship serve if I am separated from God by sin? Wouldn’t that be the very height of hypocrisy? I simply can’t hide, ignore, rationalize or do other things to keep from facing my own shortcomings and be reconciled with God.

“Forgive our (my) trespasses as…

View original post 331 more words

About aliveintheword

Missouri, USA Married to Marty, 45 years 2 sons (with 2 daughers-in-law) and 2 granddaughters Life dedicated to serving Jesus Christ and delivering the Good News
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

